Skip to content

I like kale……now.

kaletabouli

This past weekend I was lucky enough to visit the always-amazing Byron Bay. Returning there fills me with feelings of childhood nostalgia and contentment; such a wonderful lifestyle!!

For a number of years my family and I lived nearby to Byron and enjoyed many trips there together.

The most recent trip here saw me dining at the awesome Bay Leaf cafe in Byron Bay (3 times!) and relishing each meal.

Embarrassingly, I was so eager to enjoy my meals here that I did not get to capture much…

The ethos at Bay Leaf – 2 Marvell Street Byron Bay – is about best-in-show produce, clean eating and seriously great tastes. The combinations available were both interesting and delicious. Modern-day “health food” if you like.

This particular meal was an early lunch for me on a busy Saturday and I could not praise it more. To date I had not enjoyed kale to be honest; despite the huge nutritional benefits; though the delicate and thoughtful preparation of a top-quality ingredient in this case and then combined with heirloom tomatoes, basil, parsley, goats chesse, pepitas and EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) was heavenly. Served overflowing on yummy sourdough and with all kinds of brilliant contrasts – soft and crunchy, savoury and sour….

Around 250 calories and providing a good protein source, vegetable nutrients, complex carbohydrates, great saturated fats and serious energy for my afternoon ahead this was a great meal and even better it was CLEAN and OUT.

It isΒ possible; in fact highly enjoyable to eat both CLEAN and OUT and our hope is that our blog will be where you will find out how, where and a lot about theΒ why also.

Nadia.

xx

kaletabouli

Kale Tabouli from the kitchen @ Bay Leaf Byron Bay

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Anna #

    Yum, this salad looks amazing! Anna

    February 26, 2013

Leave a Reply

