Skip to content

Caprese Heaven

Absolutely my favourite, go-to, enduring salad…

Italian food (and Italy) ranks super high on my scale of enjoyment in life and I can not quite describe the ridiculous level of excitement I felt upon visiting the Isle of Capri (off the impossibly stunning Amalfi Coast) in 2011, ordering, and eating…..

INSALATA CAPRESE or CAPRESE SALAD

As you would imagine the name of this salad is attributed to its place of origin and below you will find a shot of Capri from my travels….

Marina Grande - Isle of Capri
Marina Grande – Isle of Capri

Traditionally Insalata Caprese is made up of cow’s milk mozzarella, tomatoes, olive oil, oregano and rocket. All wonderful ingredients!! Prior to visiting Italy I had eaten (and made) various versions of Caprese Salad’s though all scrumptious in their own right! I captured my first true Insalata Caprese here…

My first taste of Insalata Caprese... in Capri!
My first”real” Insalata Caprese… in Capri!

This dish can offer incredible colour, texture, nutrition and time (as it is so simple to create!) My tip – with this and ALL foods – is to select the very best produce that is available to you and that you can afford.

For me this means :

  • Buffalo mozzarella from my local Italian delicatessen
  • Home-grown basil – or a thriving bunch from the fruit & veg store
  • Bright red and ripe heirloom, truss or roma tomatoes
  • Good-quality EVOO (extra-virgin olive oil)
  • Good quality caramelised balsamic vinegar
  • Sea Salt
  • Cracked Black Pepper
The makings of a heavenly (and clean) salad
The makings of a heavenly (and clean) salad


This salad can be made for as many or few people as need be with minimal-to-no waste and is a wonderful entree/starter. It has the wow-factor for limited stress which has always been a crowd-pleaser for me.

On average – 1 serve – is 270cal which is 90% attributed to the cheese !

Try it, eat it, enjoy it and tell me about it.

Caprese Salad - looks AS good as it tastes!!
Caprese Salad – looks and tastes AMAZING!!

Nadia xxxx

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sam #

    My favourite salad of all time!

    February 28, 2013
  2. Mmmm….I can’t wait until our tomatoes are back in season. A winter tomato just shouldn’t be used in a Caprese Salad! But when summer weather is knocking at my door this is the first salad I make in my kitchen! Beautiful!

    February 28, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Delicious herb pesto | mumanddaughter

Leave a Reply

