Skip to content

Emotions and food

Having recently been in Melbourne to visit my dear mum who sadly suffers from dementia; the topic of emotions and our eating is front and centre for me.

Where better to process and learn from this, than here, with you all!

You have come to know me as a true exercise-lover and what was interesting on this trip was that I really didn’t feel up to my usual exercise routine. Usually when visiting Melbourne; or anywhere away from home; I head to the nearest gym as well as pounding the pavement with my regular brisk, long walks.

This time around however with freezing weather (good old Melbourne!) and the mixed emotions at seeing my Mum as she is not doing so well; I could only manage a feeble early morning walk and an even more feeble attempt at cardio… This activity lasted two days.

Salvation and enjoyment came from indulging in the wonderful cafe/bar scene + gastronomical delights that Fitzroy has to offer. Although I was not subjecting my body to its usual gruelling routine and additionally was feeling emotionally drained, the type of food that I was drawn to was still in the realms of healthy and clean eating… all be it except for the many lattes, Aperols and Pinot Noir’s consumed over the four days. Balance right??

I have no issue with a good quality and delicious Pinot Noir.. Enjoyed in moderation.
I have no issue with a good quality and delicious Pinot Noir.. Enjoyed in moderation.

Each meal consumed over one particular day was an absolute delight to my taste buds and that of my friend. Salvation indeed.

Vine leaves, broccoli salad, grilled octopus & delicious fresh bread from one of Fitzroy's best
Vine leaves, broccoli salad, grilled octopus & delicious fresh bread from one of Fitzroy’s best

We started the day with a good hearty breakfast, then shared a tapas-style late lunch before enjoying entree sized share-plates again for dinner.

Poached eggs, spinach, grilled mushroom & gluten free toast for a brilliant and energising start to the day!
Poached eggs, spinach, grilled mushroom & gluten free toast for a brilliant and energising start to the day!

My usual go-to snack of nuts and trail mix was not required at any stage of the day. This is due to the fact that my normal weights and cardio program was absent in the day and therefore my hunger eased as a balance of energy in, energy out. There is that word again; balance.

A shared and enjoyable dinner
A shared and much enjoyed dinner

All in all, it can be said that if we adapt a good nutritious diet on a regular basis and involve daily exercise of some description; even if that is walking the streets of Fitzroy and Collingwood with the sole purpose of retail therapy; then the body will still gravitate toward what is good and wholesome when we are not in our usual habitat and routine. Instead of being frustrated or angry with myself for not “feeling into my regular exercise” I adjusted and embraced. However I did not sit around and consume calorie-laden/low-value foods either.

It is important that we do not fall prey to emotional eating. After all the good work you have put into your body, both inside and out, it is imperative that you maintain that equilibrium. Besides it feels better that way!!

Viv xx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

