Skip to content

Change for the better + awesome reader giveaway

Mum has recently posted a piece on motivation and where it comes from. It was a great article that received wonderfully positive feedback and for us, timely also.

Just over a week into 2014 and Mum and Daughter were contacted regarding a wonderful opportunity. An opportunity to offer our readers further inspiration. An opportunity that allows us to give awesomeness to you over the next few months.

With Mum and I having trained at Fitness First since its’ very first day of trading in Australia, it made complete sense to us  to represent their new steps into the future. A new look. A new brand. A new direction.

I can tell you that standing in front of their newly refurbished Market Street Club in Sydney’s CBD watching acrobatic performers, hearing about as well as seeing their new vision and significant changes inside such an awesome new gym + meeting the sparkling Jane Fonda (their new ambassador) standing tall at age 76, I felt the change.ff 2

Very cool way to start the morning...

A very cool way to start the morning…

The launch also reminded me that we are all capable of finding what we love and can do to lead a healthier and better life. Forget the extreme and simply do.

It felt inspiring to see decades of the fitness industry represented, especially as for Mum and I, we have seen it all. Aerobics, the equipment-craze, bodybuilding, personal training, group classes and the rest…. My parents in fact owned their own gym in the early 1980’s in Sydney Eastern Suburbs and the gym has always felt like a home away from home for me. So familiar and magical, where change and challenge can occur constantly. time

This week as we stood amongst Fitness royalty (AKA Ms Fonda) it impressed upon both of us exactly how passionate we feel about inspiring others to feel the love for fitness and wellbeing that we do. How our goals; and subsequent stumbling blocks can help you and your goals. For those who did not grow up in gyms and who perhaps find these spaces somewhat intimidating, wanting so much to show what is possible. Something that Jane herself mentioned really captured our attention, “it (fitness) builds confidence that helps you go further in life.”

Mum and Daughter with Fitness royalty...

Mum and Daughter with Fitness royalty…

Mum and Daughter could not agree more.

What also struck us was how the right gear and equipment can really inspire you to push your limits and build that momentum. A new pair of running shoes want to be used after all! Sometimes these items and the money to buy them can be an obstacle of its own or the confidence to try something new. We get it!

Lucky for you the positive kickstart that you need is here. We have a seriously wonderful giveaway pack for one lucky reader containing:give

To enter is simple – comment below with what or who inspires you to lead a better life and why.

ENTRIES FOR THIS COMPETITION HAVE NOW CLOSED.

The competition is for Australian residents only (sorry everyone else!) and is open until Monday February 3rd (AEDST).

To read more about what Fitness First are offering click here. They are making it easier than ever to transform your mind and body.herobanner1200x450

This post is in partnership with Fitness First and we are thrilled to be working with them over the next few months to bring you further inspiration and awesomeness.

70 Comments Post a comment
  1. Melly L #

    For years I suffered from severe depression. Life felt like a dark empty vessel. Mum took me to a happy and safe place like a bright spark. She encouraged me to take up surf life saving and train to be a qualified surf life saver. Everyday we brave the high seas on our shoulders, living and breathing a life of purpose and fulfilment, embracing life to the max. Through Mum’s encouragement, motivation and guiding light, I was able to finally put the black dog behind me two years ago, and started reaching out to the precious lives at sea. Love you Mum!

    February 3, 2014
  2. My granddad inspires me to lead a better life. He still gets out and active, and he’s more fit than I am, even though he’s over 85! He’s always been my number one supporter with every challenge life has thrown at me. I’m proud of him, and want to achieve health and happiness in the same way that he has.

    February 3, 2014
  3. Laura Scriven #

    Michelle Bridges with her philsophy and drive,
    She’s allowed me to survive!
    Shredding my weight,
    My new life is great.

    February 3, 2014
  4. Kate Young #

    When I need some inspiration to get through difficult times and change for the better, I look to my grandma. When she was 25, her husband suddenly died of a brain aneurysm, leaving her to raise her two daughters (my mum – age 4, and my aunt – age 2) alone.

    Being the strong woman that she is, she raised them alone while becoming the national fashion buyer for Myers, having negotiated to receive the same wages as the men (back in the day when lower wages for women were the rule).

    Now 82, she is still such a fun, positive and healthy woman. When I feel like life is getting me down, I think how she has led such a happy and joyful life despite the trials life threw her way and think: I can do it too!

    February 3, 2014
  5. Christine Lawrence #

    Every single person whom life has delivered unexpected hardships, fought and prevailed.
    Three years ago my friend Jess waited at a pedestrian crossing while her friend ran ahead. When the light turned green, Jess crossed the road only to have a person run a red light. This twist of fate left Jess unable to walk. Her courage and determination not only allowed her to walk again but run in the city to surf last year.
    Her fortitude inspires me to be the best version of myself and to live everyday to the fullest.

    February 3, 2014
  6. Mikaela.C #

    My dad passed away from a massive heart attack when I was 14 years old due to his poor lifestyle. This has inspired me to exercise and eat healthy!

    February 3, 2014
  7. Geraldine Khoo #

    My mum – she started studying medicine at age 38 and raised me by herself. She is a constant inspiration, she has shown me so much love and support and has taught me to care about my health and family and friends above all else.

    February 3, 2014
  8. Kara #

    Blogs blogs blogs! I love reading about other peoples journeys, the ups and downs of it all and charging on through all that and coming out the other end a healthier happier person. Its ordinary people doing the extraordinary that really inspires me!

    February 3, 2014
  9. Linda Clark #

    My friends are my inspiration we all have a story and they allow me to tell my dramas without judgement or critism but honest advice

    February 3, 2014
  10. Chloe Barber #

    defiantly my 2 little girls, with them being so young my actions now will pass down on to them (hopefully), so they can continue to live a healthy life just like me ! I want to raise them knowing that I did the best I could possibly do to better their lives and their health!.

    February 3, 2014
  11. Judith Fasshauer #

    My kids inspire me to have a better life thinking in be with them , to have the energy and be more healthy and have body and mind in equilibrium to our daily journal having 3 boys they are so active and like mum i need to follow their steps and be with them al day long so they are my inspiration and motivation in life and more my 11 years old who bring me back to life when i had a Car acccident and i was without walking for few months he was my motor and the motif to kept me strong to keep walking

    February 3, 2014
  12. Barbara Fehmel #

    I have recently been blessed with Twin girls as my first Great Granddaughters. I now want to live as long as possible to see them grow up.

    February 3, 2014
  13. Charlotte #

    Definitely my mum, though I’m not sure “inspires” is quite the right word… more like kicks my butt! My mum nags me constantly but only for good causes, and although I drag my feet and complain I wouldn’t achieve half the things I do without her “motivation” 😉

    Thanks for the chance, amazing prize! Hoping to get fit finally in 2014 🙂

    February 3, 2014
  14. Jo Miller #

    The very person who looks back at me from the mirror, the onus is on me, and it’s all about wanting to look my own eyes and like the person staring back at me!

    February 3, 2014
  15. Belinda Bann #

    I inspire me! Those ‘fat’ photos of me stuck to my pantry door are a constant reminder how the unhappy, unhealthy and down right miserable old me was! Whenever I open the door they scream…DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT! My pantry does contain other family members not so healthy food and trust me..I when looking and at the leaner me now…happiness tastes far better than any junk food!

    February 3, 2014
  16. Heidi Davenport #

    I’m inspired by P!nk to get healthy. her music touches me, is great to work out to plus she is HOT (and her name is my favourite colour.) She’s one VERY inspirational woman.

    February 3, 2014
  17. Faysie #

    My daughter inspires me. She is a stay at home Mum with two little treasures. They live on a small property and she seems to ‘go’ from the moment her eyes open. If I could bottle her energy and be infused with it, I would be superwoman!

    February 3, 2014
  18. Kylie B #

    My husband who is always trying to better himself through study and fitness. He never says never. He’s come a long way on a very long and sad road losing many loved ones along the way. But he faces life with determination and does his best to provide and bring happiness into my and our five children’s lives. He’s an inspiration though he doesn’t realize it himself.

    February 3, 2014
  19. My medical reports. I remember once hearing the quote that when you are young, you use your health to chase your wealth, when you are old, you use your wealth to buy back your health. A health scare that can be controlled through a healthier lifestyle was enough to kick my self into gear. I know that quote isn’t true, one has to start a balanced lifestyle from as young as possible. By changing my lifestyle, although it is a slow and at times frustrating process is motivating me to help the rest of my family become educated. Heart disease and diabetics are a common occurrence in my ethnic minority and I’m planning to work with the local chanel 31 Weekly tv show to promote a healthier lifestyle and to educate individuals on good food habits and introducing children to sports. These exciting new plans motivate me with my own journey.

    February 3, 2014
  20. Bianca #

    My daughter shes 22 months and I can’t budge the belly on belly bulge ..so everyday we walk and exercise together so cute seeing a toddler do a squats copying her mother … If I instill a good lifestyle she will be happy and healthy

    February 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

