Skip to content

Inspiration Insider – One Nourished Life of Jodie Cooper

Since starting this blog and various social channels (almost one year ago), I have been constantly blown away by the incredibly gifted, talented and beautiful people in and around us in this wellbeing world.

For example, we all have our favourite accounts on instagram, those one’s whose updates we eagerly await whether that be of the fashion, food, cute kids or general inspiration variety. For all of the downside and controversy over social and online media in general, I personally can attest to feeling inspired and part of something bigger thanks to certain awesome individuals found on platforms such as Facebook & instagram.

As well as this, both Mum and I feel strongly about sharing the love. Recognising and giving a voice to others who we think have enormous amounts to offer you! So we are doing exactly that. You can expect to hear from special people involved in various arms of the wellbeing world and we are super proud to present them to you….

Our first Inspiration Insider is all about Jodie Cooper AKA @one_nourished_life who I first found on instagram some time ago. Since that time I have come to rely on this lovely lady for thoughtful words balanced between inspiration and reality, fabulous meal ideas and her gorgeous smile.

jodie insOn paper, Jodie is a gym owner, full-time personal trainer and now also a published cookbook author (more on that later!) Spreading her message of health and wellbeing from Victoria, Australia, above all else she is real and loves to see others living their best life!

When it comes to food Jodie keeps it simple, “I do not diet, count calories or weigh myself regularly! Quite the opposite in fact! I love food (who doesn’t!) and discovered that by chowing down real, wholefoods I was actually able to eat more and maintain a healthier weight – That’s a Win-Win!”

I mentioned that I love this girl right??!

So you can get to know Jodie better, and take inspiration from her nourished life, I asked her a few questions and she was kind enough to share with us….

How did you get where you are today?

At the time of completing my exercise and sports science degree at age 24 I was headed down the path of a career in rehabilitation. I was helping to heal already broken down bodies as a rehab assistant in hospital wards. After 3 years in that environment I was motivated by a realisation that an industry focused on creating health was a far more practical solution for preventing the rising risk and prevalence of chronic disease and illness in todays society. I decided to leave rehabilitation to focus on my existing personal training path working in the health and fitness industry. After a lot of hard work I am now the owner and manager of my own gym where I am able to spread my passion for health and wellness everyday.

What is your favourite way to exercise?

I hit the gym 5-6 days per week whilst always ensuring at least one day off for slow, active recovery, to walk with a friend, do yoga or get a sports massage. I lift heavy weights 2-3 times per week to ensure muscular strength, structural integrity and joint stability. My weights sessions never exceed 45 minutes in duration and typically consist of full body compound exercises that I perform at high intensity. My cardio workouts are also high intensity interval training (HIIT) sessions that I do 2-3 times per week. My love is running, however I do try mixing it up with a bike or rowing ergo session here and there to reduce stress on my joints. 

How do you relax?

My working week is non-stop from start to finish so I like to take any small opportunity I can to simply sit down, take a few deep breaths and just let the day go. It can be difficult to switch the mind off at the end of a hectic day, but I find popping some music on, grabbing a cosy spot on the couch with a cup of herbal tea, a book and a nice candle burning helps me to really wind down. It is also essential for me to take time off work holidaying every now so that I can enjoy time in nature…The beach is my ultimate relax destination! 

 book link

What does a day on your plate look like?

A day on my plate is a constant rotation of the freshest and most in season fresh food I can find. Most meals will without fail typically contain some kind of vegetable if not already a rainbow of colour plus a good lean portion of sustainably sourced protein. Vegies for breakfast, lunch and dinner! I keep a well stocked pantry of nuts, seeds, herbal teas, healthy oils such as olive and coconut, natural sweeteners like raw honey and maple syrup and last but not least a very generous selection of herbs and spices to ‘spice up’ my predominantly veg focused meals. Cumin of which I would say will find its way onto many a meal on my plate. It is undoubtedly my favourite spice! Ultimately I enjoy the freedom of playing and experimenting in the kitchen, seeing what I can come up with, often with some unlikely ingredient combos. The most important thing to remember is variety in the diet, and as such I endeavor to make sure no day on my plate is ever exactly the same.

Do you indulge from time-to-time and how does this affect your balance?

The key word here is balance! A diet or lifestyle focused on complete deprivation is not a sustainable one! Everyone needs that little indulgence every now and then, whether it be that extra piece of dark chocolate or that snooze button in place of an early morning work out! My balance is 80/20. Eat well and maintain my fitness routine 80% of the time and allow myself the flexibility to slip up every now and then 20% of the time. Complete rigidity is not a realistic expectation of anyone, we’re all human and giving yourself the freedom to have that little indulgence every now and then will make that other 80% more achievable.

Do you have a favourite recipe that you would like to share with us?

Choc-Popcorn Nuts are a perfect accompaniment to my herbal tea on those cosy couch nights!

Recipe is at the end of this post.

Image credit to Kate Olsson & Kirsty Bryson for food styling and photography

Image credit to Kate Olsson & Kirsty Bryson for food styling and photography

What an awesome snack idea, a recipe from Jodie’s cookbook – One Nourished Life. The intention which I love so much is that Jodie hopes her book will provide others an opportunity to find their own ‘healthy’. Jodie says, “(for me) it’s the euphoric experience of day-to-day physical and emotional energy that lead me to live a ‘One Nourished Life’.”

You can check out more of Jodie here, here and here.

Her new book, One Nourished Life is available for sale here.

Thanks Jodie xxx

Choc Popcorn Nuts

Grab your best friend, the couch, your PJ’s, a funny movie and… salty packet popcorn??? Or choc ‘popcorn’ nuts!

INGREDIENTS – serves 2

  • ¼ cup whole raw macadamia nuts
  • ¼ cup whole raw walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon organic coconut sugar
  • 1 tablespoon shredded coconut
  • 1 teaspoon raw organic cacao powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons water

METHOD

  1. Pre-heat fan forced oven to 180 degrees celcius and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, combine coconut sugar, coconut, cacao powder and cinnamon. Add water and mix well. Throw in nuts and coat evenly.
  3. Spread coated nuts evenly onto tray and place in oven for 4 minutes.

Devour!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

