Skip to content

Inspiration Insider – The Healthy Tradie

The health world it would seem is jam packed full of women. Inspiring and incredible women who provide immense value to this wonderful community of health-aware people, however the female-skew is not lost on me nor I imagine on you.

So with this in mind, when a friend put me on to @thehealthytradie via Instagram mid-way through last year, I was super excited to find out that Dane was a health-aware, beach-loving, positive and genuine guy who was passionate about his story inspiring others!

What’s not to love about that?

Since then I have really enjoyed following Dane’s journey (and meals) from detoxing parasites and super-strict eating to embracing and enjoying home cooked meals, super fresh produce, eating goose heart and his famous avo slides! He offers a balanced perspective on all things health and wellbeing so I will let him tell you his story; how worrying about food choices 24/7 can make you sick, that none of us are perfect and how good catching your own dinner feels. Allow yourself to be inspired…

Who is the Healthy Tradie and how did he come about?

Hi, my name is Dane Ellevsen. I’m a 27 year old who owns his own electrical company, surfs whenever possible, loves to cook and inspire people to get outside.

I moved to Sydney when I was 21 to stretch my wings and find some direction in my life. I suffered from bad skin and loved to party… a little too much! I met a girl and she mentioned that whilst in America, she didn’t consume gluten or dairy which really helped her skin. I started to avoid those foods immediately and the self-medicating thus started. In order to not get sick I started cooking more for myself and found a passion for healthy ingredients (most of which I’d never heard of before) and got stuck into a whole lot of reading and talking to like-minded people about health. I started “The Healthy Tradie” in the hope to inspire people to move their bodies more, eat clean foods and be aware of the fuel they’re ingesting. My thought behind it was that if I can help one or two people, then it’s worth my time.

Being quite the social media hit with your unique take on health & wellbeing for the average guy, what is the coolest thing that has happened from this?

I have to say that the best thing that’s happened so far in this journey is becoming good friends with my famers from Field To Feast; Hapi and Cath.

Each week I go down to the local Bondi Farmers Markets and see them, Cath is like my mum-away-from-home and always up for a chat plus each week or two I try a new ingredient and expand my food knowledge.

(Sorry Vegans and Vegetarians – maybe don’t read this next paragraph).

Two months ago I went out to their farm near Camden and killed some geese with Hapi. This was a completely new experience and it made me both realise and appreciate how much work actually goes into obtaining the so called “prized cuts” of poultry. I am a firm believer in Paddock to Plate, Nose to Tail and Nothing goes to Waste philosophies, so the goose that I took home was treated accordingly. Its’ liver used for patè, every bit of meat cooked for myself and friends, bones used to make a broth, I ate the heart and even stomach (not my cup of tea).

The Healthy Tradie account has also encouraged and inspired me to be more real. In my last relationship, my girlfriend at the time always pushed me to be real and share the not-so-healthy things that I do as well. I’m so glad she did as I feel that my followers resonate with that and besides, I don’t want to be seen as perfect because nothing in this world is.

Have you always been fit & healthy?

After three years of trying a lot of detoxes, avoiding gluten, dairy, soy, refined sugar and fructose (apart from a lemon water upon rising and berries), nightshades (tomatoes, capsicum and eggplant) and most starchy below-ground vegetables my diet started getting fairly boring as you can imagine. Worse still, no matter what I ate, I seemed to get sick.

Through a friend, I was put onto Catie Payne who worked at Ovvio in Paddington (an Organic Health & Lifestyle Store) and attended a Naturopathic consultation. Within minutes of talking to Catie, I was made to realise that my thoughts were a big part of the problem! I was thinking and worrying about food 24/7 and whether my choices were going to make me sick or impact other people. When I did consume gluten, dairy or any of the above inflammatory foods, I would become bloated and not very pleasant to be around if you catch my drift…

I completed a three-day consecutive stool sample and discovered that I had played host for two parasites! One promoting IBS and the other Anxiety. I went on a 2-3 months detox and eradicated them though these days I’m not so strict with my diet. When I have cravings that take me away from solid nutrition choices, I soon realise how good a healthy home cooked meal can be and how vital fresh produce is.

On the fitness front, I have surfed since I was in year three, always played soccer and other outdoor games as well. Between the ages of 18-22 however, my partying reigned supreme over my surfing and all other activities. This alcohol abuse led to my stomach walls becoming weak and enabled the parasites to move in and start causing havoc.

Since ridding my body of the parasites, I’ve gotten right back into surfing, spearfish regularly, partake in yoga and do full body functional training with my good friend Radley from Spring Wellness. I’m not in the best shape possible but mentally I’m healthier than ever!

Note from Nadia – Spring Wellness Sprouted Loaf is the bomb!!

dane

What is your favourite way to exercise?

I’m really into spearfishing at the moment; holding your breath and being at one with the ocean is a pretty incredible experience. Plus catching your own dinner and being self-sufficient is the most important thing in life in my books!

How do you relax?

The way I relax these days is through surfing, spearing, meditation or being creative through building my driftwood lamps. Being able to sit/lay in silence whether it be with my surfboard, speargun, tools or meditation apps on my phone allows me to instantly unwind. I’ve learnt in the last two years about how important breathing is and even just doing half a dozen 8 seconds in/8 seconds out breaths can reset both your mind and mood.

What does a day on your plate look like?

Upon rise: I usually start my day with a lemon water followed by another glass of alkalised water

Breakfast: Either yoghurt with berries, nuts and cacao OR eggs and greens OR left-over slow roast from the previous night

Lunch: If I didn’t have eggs for lunch I would fry or boil some eggs and saute some greens

Afternoon snack: Grapefruit (as it contains very low fructose) or an apple

Dinner: Slow-roast lamb shoulder with veggies which I put on before leaving for work in the morning

Do you indulge from time-to-time and how does this affect your balance?

These days I try to have a 80/20 approach. I used to be super strict but I found out that that was part of my problem.

Do you have a favourite recipe that you would like to share with us?

Breakfast has always been drummed into me as being the most important meal of the day. I always take time to prepare something full of protein and good fats to set myself up for the day.

I rarely use recipes as I like to combine whatever I’ve bought from market day together with different cooking methods. Though just for you guys, here is one of my favourite go to brekkies

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Parsley-rolled soft boiled eggs on a bed of fresh organic market produce

Ingredients - serves 1
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 3 silverbeet leaves
  • 1 cabbage leaf
  • 1 capsicum
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 chilli
  • 1/4 bunch parsley, chopped
  • sprinkle of turmeric
  • sprinkle of cumin
  • salt & pepper
  • splash coconut oil, to cook
  • 1 lemon, for zest and/or juice (optional)
What to do
  1. Cut and prepare the capsicum, cabbage, chili, garlic and silverbeet ready to fry off
  2. Boil enough water in a saucepan to cover the eggs
  3. Place eggs into boiling water and set a timer for 5 minutes and 45 seconds – have a bowl of iced water ready to stop the cooking process once timer goes off
  4. Add coconut oil to a warm frypan set to medium-high
  5. Fry off chilli, capsicum, cabbage and spices for 5 minutes or until softens
  6. Add the garlic for a further minute
  7. Toss in the washed silver beet, place a lid over the frypan for two minutes or until the greens become vibrant, not wilted then set mixture aside
  8. Peel the eggs delicately and roll in chopped parsley
  9. Cut avocado in half then cut into an avoslide – quarters look great also
  10. Place the fried produce in the centre of the plate
  11. Dress with the avocado to create some height
  12. Add eggs to the plate

Sit down in a quiet place, chew slowly and enjoy every bite.

 Dane’s Cooking Notes

 I love adding a little bit of Lemon rind or apple cider vinegar to the end product. The acid helps cut through the fats and gives it that little zing.

You may like to change the spices to paprika, cayenne pepper or whatever else you have in your spice rack.

Silverbeet can easily be replaced with kale, spinach or any other green you have in the fridge.

Thank you so much for sharing your story and experiences with us Dane! As well as his fab instagram account you can find Dane here on Facebook.

Enjoy the inspiration intended from this post and if you found value, share the love with someone else who you think will as well!

Nadia xx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

