Skip to content

The Died and Gone To Heaven Chocolate Thickshake

There are few things as nostalgic to most people than a thick shake.

It is a calling to a time long gone and hopefully to a way of eating that’s in the past as well. Unfortunately the thick in most thick shakes include a long list of less-than-ideal choices for our bodies to thrive, that includes processed ice-cream and many lab-created chemicals/food-like products.

So I decided it was time to let you in on a little secret… The secret to velvety, rich and decadent shakes every single time. Decadent yes and simple, natural and nutritious as well.

Frozen banana.

That’s it. That’s the secret. It’s that easy (and cheap!) that you may not believe me. Easier still is that you don’t even need to cut them up! Each week we buy bananas, peel them, break them up roughly and freeze in glass containers for our smoothies and shakes throughout the week, it couldn’t be easier.

This particular recipe is vegan and refined sugar-free (of course!) and could work for any time of day. You will receive a good dose of healthy fats and antioxidants via the coconut oil and raw cacao whilst still feeling like you are enjoying a treat.

You may already have the ingredients at home so let’s get blending…

Chocolate Thickshake - serves 1

Vegan / Gluten-free / Refined Sugar-free

TIP08207TIP08207-3

YOU NEED

  • 200mL almond milk (or your choice of milk)
  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 10g raw cacao
  • 5g coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons good quality unflavoured protein powder 
  • 2 Medjool dates, pitted

WHAT YOU DO

  1. Combine all ingredients into a blender on high-speed
  2. Whizz for several minutes until the mixture is smooth
  3. Pour into your favourite glass and enjoy!

TIP08219TIP08248TIP08257TIP08274TIP08283

I l-o-v-e seeing your creations so #nadiafelsch on instagram and show me what you got!

xxx Nadia xxx

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks yummy! I have a shake every morning and think I will try this one tomorrow. I use a protein mix called SuperFoodMix (the unsweetened pumpkin seed one). I am really trying to learn and follow the healthy way of eating. I have just found your site and love it. I am now a follower and can’t wait to explore more of your wonderful information, recipes fun ideas!! Thank you for sharing.

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you so much Dee!

      I’m thrilled that you’ve found inspiration and ideas from my site – make sure you head on over to nadiafelsch.com – which is where my site will be moved over to in a few weeks – and sign up so you receive all of the goodness from me when that switch happens.

      Let me know how you find the shake – it’s delicious and I look forward to sharing more with you xxx

      October 23, 2014
  2. I will definitely plan on heading to your new site! Please let me know when that happens. Yes, will be back in touch after trying that delicious looking shake! Thanks again…

    October 23, 2014
    • My absolute pleasure! Once you join my tribe over at the new site you’ll receive instant and exclusive updates so you’ll be well taken care of xx

      October 23, 2014
  3. Oh my goodness!!! You were absolutely right. I tried your recipe for the chocolate shake and it was absolutely delicious!! I also added some of my normal stuff like hemp seed and goji berries but wow, I will definitely be adding this to one of my favorites!! Thanks again Nadia for all your great information!! Have a wonderful day!

    “Live your life in the moment with passion, love and kindness”

    October 24, 2014
    • I’m thrilled to hear it Dee and thank you 🙂

      October 25, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Yummy!!! | LIFE - in the moment

Leave a Reply

