Skip to content

Cellulite Shame

This is the post that I have wanted and equally not wanted to write for months.

An entire post centred around a word that brings horror to most women’s faces at the mere mention of it. A powerful word and an even more powerful reality for many of us.

I’m no different and that’s why this post has lingered in drafts for so long. However I’ve learnt that the more resistance I have to share a story, the more that I need to and perhaps the greater value that it has to offer you.

Long-term readers will know all about my devotion to health & wellbeing; how I love to train and eat delicious wholefoods. You’ll also know that in the past I have obsessed over every morsel that I have eaten and lived a fairly strict existence all in the name of my own appearance.

What I have never shared with you though is my intensely deep shame… that I have cellulite.

You see, this doesn’t fit the picture. The one where I’m excited and devoted to empowering and inspiring you on your own health & wellbeing journey. The one where I train consistently and effectively. The one where I eat nourishing wholefoods and share recipes with you. It just doesn’t fit.

I should be flawless. I should be strong, athletic, fit and lean. Healthy and fit girls don’t have cellulite.* Who the heck am I to inspire with this reality on the back of my legs? I haven’t always had cellulite and in fact it wasn’t an issue for me until the age of 23; neither my mum nor sister have it. Since that time, I have spent significantly more money on pants as opposed to shorts and loads of time and energy worrying about its’ existence.

I created this picture for myself and the story to go along with it and as confronting as it is to change it, I know that I need to.

Because I do empower and inspire you on your health & wellbeing journey. Because I do train consistently and effectively. Because I do eat nourishing wholefoods and share recipes with you. So why on Earth does me having a few dimples on the back of legs mean that I should feel shame?

It doesn’t.

It doesn’t for me and it doesn’t for you either.

There’s lots of reasons why cellulite is said to appear on our bodies including hormones, poor diet and lifestyle choices, age and genetic predisposition. The reality is that the majority of adult woman have cellulite and all of them wish they didn’t.

* Healthy and fit girls have cellulite too – exhibit A is right here.

Let’s right now together agree to stop talking crap about ourselves because of cellulite. Let’s stop and feel gratitude to our bodies instead because each day they thanklessly perform thousands of tasks to keep us alive and thriving. Your body is incredible, just as it is. Now that we’ve started there we can move on… Because like you, I want hot legs and to feel comfortable wearing shorts.

We can move on to the part where I tell you that cellulite can be reduced and that I’m living proof of it. The healthier, fitter, leaner and less toxic that you are, the less that cellulite will be a concern.

What is cellulite?

Cellulite is fat deposits just below the skin, typically in the abdomen and lower pelvic region –  such as on the thighs and butt.

While the above factors that I mentioned can play a role in cellulite formation, there is one common denominator to all of these factors and that’s the accumulation of toxicity in your body. The vast majority of us have experienced extended periods eating packaged and processed foods, pesticides and preservatives. Then there’s the environmental pollutant exposure; even within our homes; the cigarettes, excess alcohol and perhaps drug use (even for medical reasons). Together this adds up to a whole lot of toxins in your body. Your body stores toxins in your fat to help minimise how much toxicity your vital organs are exposed to.

What to do about it

  • eat clean and nourishing wholefoods
  • drink up and stay hydrated
  • move your body

Allowing more of the good in allows the not-so-good to detoxify out – win/win.

Clean Eating Wholefoods | Nadia Felsch

The above 3 points are a roadmap for life and that goes far beyond the back of your legs. Kindness can be in many forms and it starts from within so be kind to yourself. My hope is that you love and appreciate all that you body does for you each day and that you give it the absolute best back, setting up an environment to both feel and look amazing for your life.

I can affirm that when you approach these points consistently and head-on; there are only positive outcomes to enjoy. Your entire wellbeing will be much obliged and what may have started as an external focus will shift to an overall goal and benefit.

What’s the harm in trying?

xxx Nadia xxx

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Natalie #

    Love the article Nadia, Its a long road learning to love yourself when you spent so long not doing so. Your articles give continuous inspiration when I feel the journey is not going so well. It’s a great pick me up that has come at the right time!

    September 16, 2014
    • Thank you so much Natalie!

      I am thrilled that this post has provided you with a “pick me up” and that you derive inspiration from my work – that’s music to my ears!
      Sending love x

      September 16, 2014
  2. Wonderful post! I completely relate

    September 16, 2014
    • Thanks so much Kathleen and let’s be loving our bodies xx

      September 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

