Skip to content

Fish & Chips

A serious classic and would you believe one that I’ve never made before?

Until now that is.

Fish & Chips – the dish enjoyed by so many of us and linked to whimsical summer holiday memories. For me, not so much as fish has never been my preferred protein choice. Yes, shocking I know. The immense nutritional benefits of these swimming creatures has never been lost on me though I’ve not been able to bring myself to love the stuff. Tolerate though not love.

Again, until now.

Fish truly is brain food and the experts tell us that we can enjoy the sustainable and fresh variety 3 times a week. You know I’m not a fan of nutritional rules (other than to eat awesome wholefoods!) so I say eat it when you feel like it and know that you’re doing your body and mind a great service when you do.

My take on this classic dish is all about baking and keeping that flavour locked in.

Baked fish rocks! It’s super quick, uncomplicated and packed full of flavour. It also means you can swing by your local fishmonger after work and 30 minutes after coming home have a delicious dinner ready for you.

This recipe uses white fish as I find that variety the most palatable however if you are comfortable with other types of fish, by all means get creative! Keep in mind however that the cooking times may vary should you choose to do so.

How are making these chips then? With magical sweet potato is how! Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about a good potato though in this case, the sweet potato provides an awesome sweetness and I feel an easier-to-create crunch factor. In addition, we’re going to add a few kitchen staples to further enhance the fish and really bring this clean, healthy & nutritious dish to life.

I promise, it doesn’t get much easier than this and I really hope you enjoy adding this recipe to your weekly meals.

TIP00217

Fish & Chips - serves 2
Vegetarian / Gluten-free / Sugar-free / Dairy-free

2 de-boned white fish fillets

½ sweet potato, cut into thin chips

2 teaspoons olive oil

Salt & pepper

1 cup baby spinach leaves

6 cherry tomatoes, washed & halved

Thin slices red onion

2 teaspoons lemon juice

4 fresh thyme sprigs

WHAT YOU DO

Preheat oven to 200 degrees (electric)

Coat sweet potato with 1 teaspoon olive oil, salt & pepper

Bake for 30-40 minutes until starting to crisp & set aside

Place ½ cup spinach in the middle of a sheet of foil & top with the fish fillet

Season & cover with tomatoes, onion & thyme

Coat with other teaspoon of olive oil & lemon juice

Fold into a parcel & repeat with other fish fillet

With 18 minutes to go for the sweet potato chips, put the fish in to bake

Remove both from the oven & serve immediately

TIP00211 TIP00218

This recipe is part of the FREE 7 Day Clean Eating Meal Plan that is about to be released exclusively to subscribers of my new site. Be sure to head over there ASAP and sign up so that you can receive an entire week of recipes just like this one in a gorgeous and easy to use eBook available on all devices.

I am super excited to share with you the site (pride and joy) that I have been working on for months now; a destination for food, fitness & wellbeing as well as a natural progression from Mum and Daughter to Nadia Felsch. As well as more of what you already love from me, I’ll be working with talented and wonderful people in their own fields to bring you the information and inspiration that you want – Mum is absolutely a big part of that with her regular contribution planned for the site.

This expansion means that when the switch happens we will share that with you and the next time that you visit Mum and Daughter  you will be redirected to the new site – easy! As long as you are signed up to my new website, you won’t miss a thing and please come on over and join me on instagram (I may have a slight obsession), Facebook and Pinterest for more exclusive inspiration.

It means the world to me that my journey and experiences inspire and empower you on yours. If you love what you read, eat and discover please share this post with others too – share the ❤

xxx Nadia xxx

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks gorgeous. I love baked fish but mine usually makes lots of delicious juices which I like to mop up with rice.

    September 18, 2014
    • Thanks so much lovely! Yum!!

      September 18, 2014
  2. beautifulbedlamblog #

    This looks so yummy! I am definitely going to whip this one up, maybe even tonight 🙂

    September 25, 2014
    • Thanks lovely and awesome!

      Post a photo on insta and tag me so I can see your creation xx

      September 25, 2014

Leave a Reply

