Skip to content

Inspiration Insider | Lee Sutherland

Welcome to this edition of Inspiration Insider, a series that always sees me super excited to share with you the story of someone who is living their dreams in the wellbeing world, kicking goals, inspiring me and no doubt will inspire you too!

Lee Sutherland has a simple philosophy – Move. Live. Nourish.

Through her work (as Director of Fitness In The City), Lee utilises her qualifications in Natural Medicine and Nutrition, Personal Training and Health Coaching to inspire others to find their own groove. This West Australian health & fitness blogger now calls Sydney her home where her dazzling smile and relatable nature is genuine and totally charming. 

Her business came to be from feeling frustrated at the lack of both fitness and health options available that interested her. In Lee’s own words, “I wanted a form of training that made me want to get out of bed in the morning and one that motivated me to lace up my sneakers after I left work. Most of all I wanted to feel supported and encouraged- not just while training but away from training when my motivation levels dropped.”

I had watched Lee’s work from a distance for some time and was always impressed at the variety of her knowledge in the wellbeing world. Meeting and speaking with her in person has absolutely confirmed that this talented lady has a whole lot to offer so let’s hear more…

What does your day on a plate look like?

This changes everyday depending on how early my first client is or if I have a back-to-back session but usually it’s something along the lines of this….

EARLY

I start my day with a probiotic as well as warm water and lemon to drink on the way to my first client. I also grab a coconut water or power green smoothie to drink if I have back-to-back clients as this tides me over nicely.

BREKKIE

Once I get home or to the office I’ll have eggs, avocado, tomato and greens or quinoa porridge – always ensuring I have included the 3 macronutrients (protein, healthy carbs and fats).

MORNING

By mid-morning I am on to my third cup of herbal tea.

LUNCH

Lunch is typically catching up with a friend or a business meeting  somewhere nearby like Bread & Circus or Bruce Leaves (both in Sydney’s south) or if not I’ll make a big colourful salad with either salmon or organic chicken.

SNACK

In the afternoon if I need a snack I’ll have a glass of my homemade ginger kombutcha (Im obsessed!) with either some mixed berries or an apple with a spoonful of ABC spread (almond, brazil and cashew nuts) and another tea.

DINNER

I usually get home late so dinner is whatever my fiancé as made for me! Lately it’s been organic slow-cooked pulled pork with some cabbage/salad slaw – soooo good!! Dessert will be a little homemade raw chocolate or treat, with yep, another herbal tea (I’m so obsessed with them that I’m bringing out a range of my own medicinal blended teas soon!!)

greens pork

Juices or smoothies: which do you prefer?

Oh that’s a tough one however if I’m making them myself then it’s smoothies all the way! I just throw whatever veggies I have in the fridge in with some extra lemon to sweeten it – that way you still get all the fibre goodness of the veggies which you lose when juicing.

What’s the biggest exercise misconception you're always clearing up for people?

That you have to be vomiting (or close to) at the end of a session and covered in sweat to have had a good session. You would be surprised at how effective, slow and precise movements which focus on correct form, core and stability are and how much you feel it the next day. Lots of people today have adrenal stress, PCOS and/or hormone imbalances so doing a full on workout which lasts longer than 45 minutes is just going to encourage extra cortisol production which in turn will just store more fat – that isn’t what we want!

What’s your favourite way to move your body?

I love to mix it up – boredom is the death of any exercise routine!! I have a pretty crazy schedule at the moment so a lot of the time I will do a short but intense tabata session with some kettle bells. If I have a little more time I love to throw in some yoga, Barre Xtend, stand up paddleboarding, surfing, walking the pup or even sprints. At the moment I’m recovering from a broken leg so most of this is on hold for the time being (tear!)

Top 5 songs on your iPod right now?

I’m really mixing it up at the moment and listening to some Black Keys, Kanye, Janis Joplin, Nashville Cast Soundtrack (don’t judge) and The XX.

Do you indulge from time-to-time and how does this affect your balance?

I lovvvvve food but balance was a big thing for me to learn. I know my weak areas and if there’s a block of chocolate in the house I will eat it all so I just don’t put myself in that situation. I’m really affected by what I eat thanks to having PCOS which means processed sugar is not my friend (hello mood swings) and I also can’t eat gluten so I love to make my own treats, that way I know exactly what’s in them.

Favourite quote to live by?

Life is short. If there was ever a moment to follow your passion and do something that matters to you, that moment is now.

lee 2

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to start a healthier lifestyle?

Just start. Don’t wait for Monday or for that perfect moment, just take small steps towards a healthier, happier life now. Whether that’s adding more water into your diet and less soft drink, or swapping a chocolate for some berries, not skipping meals or even teaching yourself to swap negative thoughts for some ass-kickin loving ones – just start.

Do you have a favourite recipe that you would like to share with us? 

I’m loving this smoothie at the moment, especially when I’m getting a tad too busy and stressed as it includes chamomile.

Chamomile has numerous health benefits, including the promotion of general relaxation and relief of stress. Studies show that chamomile contains substances that act on the same parts of the brain and nervous system as anti-anxiety drugs, which makes it the perfect choice to enjoy throughout the day in times of stress. It’s also the source of phytonutrients and minerals, such as flavones, glycosides, bitter glycosides, valeric acid, tannins, salicylic acid, coumarin derivatives, copper, potassium, zinc, iron, phosphorus, magnesium, vitamin C, and vitamin B1, so these little flowers really are a super tonic in their own right.

To access these properties, steep the flowers in hot water for at least 10 minutes and then allow to cool.

lee recipe

Soothe Me Smoothie

Almond milk (I buy fresh Inside Out almond milk from Bondi Markets – love)

Bare Blends WPI cacao powder (or any clean protein powder)

Young coconut flesh

1 tablespoon chia seeds

2 tablespoon chamomile flowers soaked in ¼ cup boiling water

5 ice cubes

Few chamomile flowers to garnish

Add everything to the blender, blitz and pour into a large glass and enjoy – preferably in a calm sunny environment for extra stress relief.

What are you working on next?

I’m excited to bring to life a passion project which has been on my mind for over 10 years, ever since I studied Herbal Medicine. Although it’s still in its early conceptual stages, Little Wildling Co is my latest side project. As the tag line on Instagram says… it’s for the rule breakers :: the inspired :: the dreamers :: tea lovers :: the wild ones :: which translates into beautiful organic, wild grown (medicinal) herbal teas with a twist. You’ll love them so stay tuned!

little wildling co

Connect with Lee

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Email

lee 1

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

