Skip to content

Breakfast: Sweet vs Savoury

What’s the deal? Which is better for you? Which assists weight management?

This, like almost everything when it comes to health & wellbeing is about bio-individuality. What works for you may not work for the next person.

However I feel passionately that the only way to know is to try it for yourself and that’s exactly what I’ve done.

6 years ago when I first visited a fantastic naturopath and nutritionist; to learn more and drop some body fat; was the first time that I ever had it suggested to me to eat savoury food for breakfast. Additionally it was recommended that I remove grains altogether in the AM and look to incorporate protein and fat before starting my day.

The truth?

I was horrified and scared. How could I live without porridge or fruit and yoghurt in the morning? I had been eating a similar breakfast for almost 5 years and I loved it.

Or was that my problem?

Fast forward to the present day and I’ve trialled a whole heap of things. Testing them for a few weeks (in order to actually notice a difference), assessing how I felt and comparing that to other options.

What I look for:

  • Satiety time (how quickly until I am hungry again)
  • Alertness
  • Energy
  • Digestive reactions
  • Other physical reactions (skin, allergies etc)
  • Enjoyment (life’s far too short!)
  • Convenience and sustainability

Humans love routine and this is a subject that comes up a lot both in my life and in conversation with others. There are few better examples of this then the food that we eat!

How many times a week do you eat the same thing for breakfast, lunch or dinner? Have you, like I had, eaten the same breakfast for years?

When it comes to brekkie, what I’ve found works best for me is a combination of sweet and savoury options on different days and those days will depend on what I have going on. Boiled eggs rolled in dukkah spices served with avocado and tomato is one of my favourite breakfast options. Who would have thought? I can guarantee, not me.

As my last point on the checklist says, convenience and sustainability are paramount and once I have some great breakfast options in place this factor will come into play. Example – if it’s a day that I’m working in retail, where taking my lunch often includes the ease and deliciousness of boiled eggs, I won’t eat eggs for breakfast. Instead I may choose Killer Muesli, Overnight Oats, Gluten-free Granola, chia pudding or even a green smoothie.

Over the past 2 weeks I’ve challenged myself to try out different breakfast options to keep things interesting, the body loves change and see if something else works for me.

If you follow me on Instagram you will have seen me post this açaí bowl and papaya boat in the past week and I’ve really enjoyed trying out new breakfast options. Don’t worry I’m working on these recipes for you….

Papaya Boat | Nadia Felsch

Neither took me long to prepare especially as my Killer Muesli is almost always ready to go in the pantry on a busy morning.

Açaí bowl | Nadia Felsch Killer Muesli | Nadia Felsch

Routine and repetition certainly has its’ place in your health, in a busy life it assists you to stay organised and prepared. Spending time planning and preparing various healthy food options can sometimes seem like far too much effort, believe me I get it.

What I also get is how important optimal health is. Feeling on top of the world and being able to give your best each day is irreplaceable and something that money can’t buy. It takes consistent effort and attention though I ask you what the alternative is? Even for the more seasoned among us, sometimes inspiration and a little kick up the bum is required. As a health writer and wholefoods cook, I still love to read other blogs and check out new options that I’d never thought of, incorporating them into my routine.

I encourage you to give this a try for yourself. See how you feel and enjoy the challenge remembering that doing as you always have will yield the same results you’ve always had.

Tag me on instagram #nfeats so I can see your creations and feel free to share them below as well!

xxx Nadia xxx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

