Skip to content

The Final Goodbye

This is it.

The time has come.

After 21 months and 147 posts, this will be the final post on Mum and Daughter.

I’ve spent every spare second (and some not spare ones too) over the past 6 months creating the new space where the content from this blog and a whole lot more will move to; my new online home. In amongst the wonderfully exciting and shiny newness, what I hadn’t factored in was this goodbye.

I remember now with mixed feelings the moment that I clicked “create” on the blog that you’re reading. Sitting at my desk in Sydney’s west, already with one foot out the door of a corporate life that I’d decided wasn’t for me and feeling a whole wave of emotions at once. Trepidation at what was next in my life, an overwhelming sense of relief and the distant buzz of excitement thrown in there somewhere too. I was excited for the possibilities that lay ahead and I had no idea that this very blog would become such a large part of that.

When WordPress presented me with the momentous task of selecting a name for this blog, I was stuck. After pondering for a few moments I chickened out from anything serious and typed in Mum and Daughter. In my mind it was a holding name of sorts because I had to select something, I liked the vagueness of it and quite truthfully, that’s exactly who we were.

I’d like to think we’ve become so much more than that though….

What started from a simple idea of sharing our knowledge and expertise through our great love of writing and each other, fast turned into something that people actually read.

When we started seeing people’s names that we didn’t know subscribing to our blog, commenting on our posts and sending us the most heartfelt, soulful messages I felt I’d hit the jackpot. This was what I had been seeking all those years, offering real value to others through sharing myself and my journey. It was therapy and work all rolled into one and I never knew it was possible to feel so protective and in love with the work that I did.

Each day I approached the blog as fiercely and focused as I had work, in effect it was a business from day one, not that I have planned for, intended it to be as such or ever really seen it that way. I blogged each week, sometimes twice and to this to this day I have never missed one. I threw my heart, my soul, my secrets, my best work, my everything into the blog. And it gave back.

You gave back.

You trusted me and you trusted us.

You asked for more.

You commented.

You shared.

You gave back.

It’s from a phenomenally grateful position in life that I can honestly say “I would do what I do each day even if I never made any money from it.”

In reality, I don’t make money from it and nor does Mum. There’s no salary, boss, shareholders or deadlines to meet though in their place there’s a creativity and unparalleled freedom that I’ve never experienced before. We write what we know and what we believe and allow ourselves to be guided by your feedback – it’s been a great ride!

Mum and Daughter | Nadia Felsch

Although there’s no salary and I’ve worked part-time/sometimes full-time in retail to support myself through this journey, I wouldn’t change a single thing. The past 21 months have shown me more about myself and the world than I ever thought possible. Thank you for your part in that. I’ve had fun. A whole lot of fun and luckily the fun has just begun…

When I was preparing to launch my eBook earlier this year it became glaringly obvious that it was time for a new direction; that it was time to spread my wings. To create the kind of online world that I had started forming in my mind and to operate proudly from my own name, from my heart.

This time around choosing a name wasn’t a challenge; the brand and story that my business was to be founded on is me all over.

I’ve never felt comfortable referring to myself as a blogger, and I guess I still don’t see myself that way. Storyteller, researcher, writer, creative, goofball, listening ear and now recipe developer, speaker, author and photo-prettier (can’t bring myself to assign the awesome title of stylist) are however roles I identify with far more….

The new brand may be fresher and housed at a different location, though you can still expect the same raw, open and realistic health & wellbeing information and advice, in fact you can expect MORE of it. Transitioning from a blog to a business has been altogether scary, vulnerable and exciting though it’s time. I’m so excited to be able to share more of myself and my knowledge with you to inspire you on your own health journey.

Offering free and valuable content whilst growing my business to support me more and in turn offer you more back; that’s the plan and I thank you for your support so far. It’s a journey and I’m here for the long haul, to learn, to improve, to grow.

My new site is set to go live next week – nadiafelsch.com will be unleashed onto the world and I’ve never been more proud of something. It’s me all over, merging what I love with my experience and background; using what I’ve learnt from the fashion and digital industries and combining that with my vast health & wellbeing knowledge. Designed with your needs in mind every step of the way and with the goal to offer support and inspiration for a healthier and happier life. Featuring experts in their fields (including Mum!) and even more value to your life.

I’m proud to be taking things to a whole other level and for you to benefit from that.

I would be incredibly humbled if you’d head on over to my coming soon page and sign up so you’re the first to know when the website is live. As a gift from me to you, you’ll also be the first to receive the 7 Day Clean Eating Meal Plan that I’ve created when everything goes live. If you’ve already signed up – thank you!

Clean Eating Meal Plan | Nadia Felsch

In the future when you look for the current blog URL – mumanddaughter.wordpress.com you will be automatically redirected to the new site nadiafelsch.com and fear not! If you have a favourite post or recipe from the blog, they will be there – updated, looking fresh and easier to find than ever!

Any social media platforms for Mum and Daughter will be switched “off” and a thriving community of awesome people can be found on Facebook here, Pinterest here and Instagram here – get involved!

Mum and I both truly hope you’ve found value in our words and work over the past (almost) 2 years and it’s with gratitude that we say thank you for your support.

The time has come to say goodbye to this blog. Lucky for me this doesn’t mean saying goodbye to you.

I’m so excited to see you on the other side!

All my love xoxoxo Nadia

Coming Soon | Nadia Felsch

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wishing you all the best! I know we’ve just connected, but I felt rather emotional reading this post! Best wishes to you and your mum ❤

    November 15, 2014
    • Thank you so much lovely! It felt rather emotional putting it together! xxx

      November 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

